I’ve been sacked:)

imgres

For the last six weeks or so I have been writing articles for mittens dot com. At the time both EN24 and TMC were looking for writers so I applied and was accepted for both. I wrote one for EN24 and about 13 for TMC for the simple reason that the latter pay nearly three times as much for each piece.

Today I was sacked for kicking up a fuss (which was probably inevitable) about one of the editors who would rewrite bits of my articles so badly that I then had to go back and spend about half an hour arguing to have the changes reversed. They included nonsensical syntax, basic grammatical errors, and simple spelling mistakes.

To be fair mittens responded to my criticisms and we had a discussion about how the bonus pay structure rewards the most prolific writers not necessarily the diligent ones (the significance of a Tusker trying to point out the benefits of quality over quantity to a goon were not lost on me) but in the end they decided to bin the troublemaker. There goes my attempt to get a bit of lowsec pvp news onto the mainstream sites.

I could still write for EN24 but given the fact that I put a lot of time into each article it’s probably not worth my while. Producing run of the mill battle reports doesn’t interest me, it’s the interesting story behind the killboards that is the difference between linking a killmail and adding a title, and an interesting read. Sailing season is coming up too and I’ll be partying my arse off on a boat in the med for most of July so maybe the stories will have to take a break.

August will bring AT so I’ll no doubt have some good tales to tell about that provided we don’t get spanked in the first round but somehow I don’t think that will happen..

6 thoughts on “I’ve been sacked:)

  1. Rob Kaichin says:

    I have to say, this is incredibly frustrating. Having read your TMDC reports, they were consistently high quality and were very enjoyable. It was nice to see a report about DT that wasn’t either depressingly inaccurate or terribly biased. :D.

    As for EVENEWS24, I wish there was a 24 hour moratorium on posting about in-game events, because they regularly write the *most* inaccurate articles I’ve seen. The Pyongyang Times deserves a Pulitzer Prize in comparison.

    Rob K.

  2. moi says:

    That Partying in the med sounds better than any article could ever be.

  3. rixxjavix says:

    This is exactly why I keep puttering about in my own corner of the universe. Sorry you got sacked, but you aren’t the first and you won’t be the last.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Sailing is fun. Fair winds matey

  5. Sard Caid says:

    I would chat with Niden and check out crossing zebras – seems the be the place for high quality eve reporting / articles these days.

Leave a Reply

